Movie Lovers love SuperU.ca

All for the love of SuperU.ca

Expanding your film horizons

with one comment

As an avid film fan I do my best to expand my horizons by seeking out new genres, film makers, etc.  Often the best of these experiences come from venturing out of my comfort zone.  

A qualtity example of this would be when I first got into foreign films.  I had always been into film, however only films made in english, due to the fact I grew up in a very small town where you could not get your hands on a foreign films.  Once I moved to Vancouver I was give the opportunity to experience films from different cultures.  Of these films some were hit and miss, however exploring these options delivered me with one of the best film experiences I’ve ever had, a film I found so profound it changed how I looked at movies all together, this film was City Of God. Watching City Of God opened my mind and allowed me to experience new films without prejudice.

With that in mind I encourage all of you to get out of your film comfort zone this week. I suggest you take the time to check out your local paper and see what film events are going on in your area, or at the very least go to your local video store and ask someone at the desk to recommend a good alternative or foreign film; a few favorites of mine are Amores Perros, Initial D, and Battle Royale.

 

Written by superuwatchers

August 18, 2008 at 11:44 am

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Glad you discovered foreign films! There are a lot of hidden gems out there, and as you say, a wonderful way to step out of your comfort zone. Happy viewing!

    Joe Yang, FilmCritic

    August 19, 2008 at 7:00 am


Leave a Reply

